A quick word about LotR films and me

Now from that title, you’re probably thinking that’s impossible…but I’ll give it a try. 😉

I have a confession to make.  *whispers* No matter what I may say here, I actually do enjoy the films.  Sure it’s a more superficial, light entertainment.  So…watching the films is both a joy and pain for me.  On one hand they are beautifully filmed, with wonderous soundtracks and typical “rip-roaring” Hollywood fun.  On the other it is horrifyingly one dimensional, simplistic and contrived.  There are parts of the movies I absolutely love for their interpretation of the book…and yet others I love just for their cinematic beauty.  And then there are other parts…mind you large ones!…that cause me to cringe and shout angrilly at my TV.  Obviously, as a direct outcome, no-one will watch the movies with me…lol. 

I have finished my reread of the book.  Now I’m just trying to work up the courage to watch the films again so I can see just how far they diverge. 

Leave a Reply

